The Western Province is one of the four Provinces and Kigali City which comprise the Country. Is situated at the western part of the country; to its north is the Northern Province and Democratic Republic of Congo; to the East the Southern Province; to the south Burundi and DRC and to the west it borders the DRC. Its headquarters is in Karongi District since January 2006.

Western Province headquarters

The Western Province has an area of over 5.882 Sqm and a population of more than two million, two hundred twenty four thousand, seven hundred and forty two( 2,476,942).

The Western Province was created by the law No. 29/2005 of 31/12/2005 establishing the administrative organs of the country. It was the result of the fusion of the former Provinces of Gisenyi, Kibuye, Cyangugu and a part of Ruhengeri. It consists of seven (7) districts which are: Rubavu, Nyabihu, Ngororero, Rutsiro, Karongi, Nyamasheke and Rusizi.

The Western Province is divided into 7 districts, 96 sectors, 538 cells and  3612 villages.

The mission of the Province is of:

Coordinating activities in connection with economic planning of Districts;

Following up implementation of national policies in districts which make up the country;

Closely monitoring activities related to the security of property and persons.

Investment opportunities

The Western Province has investment opportunities especially linked to its geographical location stakeholders in economic development. Its geographical location is conducive to commercial activities it forms a linkage between Rwanda and Eastern part of the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Economy of Rwanda and Western Province in particular depends mostly on subsistence agriculture by local farmers using simple tools; the main cash crops grown include coffee, tea and pyrethrum.


Is grown on 12.695 ha on volcanic soils of the hills slopes over coming shores of lake Kivu in five Districts of (Rusizi, Nyamasheke ,Karongi, Rutsiro, and Rubavu)


Grown on 9,771.3 ha on hill side at high altitude between 1900-2200m and on well drained marshes at an altitude 1550-1800m mostly in lands of Karongi, Rutsiro, Rubavu ,Nyabihu, Ngororero

Pyrethrum: This is grown on small house hold parcels of land in the foot hills of volcanic ranges in Rubavu and Nyabihu Districts.

Fruits growing is favored by conditions available in the respective districts Pineapples and passion fruits mostly grown in (Nyamasheke, Rutsiro and Karongi)

Lake Kivu is an extraordinary beautiful in land lake connecting 3 towns of Kamembe, Kibuye and Gisenyi, apart from fishing activities , it offers water transport to tourists in a brand new luxury boat boarded in
Gisenyi town to guide tourism along Kivu shores.

Nyungwe National Park: presents a unique phenomenon in primate tourism due to its huge concentrations of habituated primates whose troops can include 400 to 500 individuals. There are other interesting feature in Nyungwe like birds viewing, canopy walk and waterfalls


There are various minerals reserves in the following Districts; Gold in Nyamasheke and Rusizi,Wolfram, Casseterits , coltanum available in Ngororero, Rutsiro and Karongi.

The lake hosts enormous quantity in its depths that if exploited shall resolve the energy crisis in the country. Methan gaz extraction of 100MW in Lake Kivu is ongoing in Karongi District (Already 26MW are produced).